Scholarships and Awards

2013 Rick Toracinta Graduate Scholarship in Atmospheric Science

Updated 05/20/2013


Dr. E. Richard (Rick) Toracinta was a talented research scientist with the Polar Meteorology Group of the Byrd Polar Research Center at The Ohio State University. In addition to his polar work, Rick had a passion for severe weather and was a volunteer storm chaser on the Great Plains during many springs. This scholarship commemorates Rick's lasting interest in the atmosphere as well as his desire to be a teacher.

The scholarship is awarded biennially to a graduate student studying atmospheric science, broadly defined, at The Ohio State University. Preference will be given to students specializing in severe weather (e.g., thunderstorms, tornadoes, and hurricanes), polar meteorology or polar climatology. The selection criteria include academic performance, excellence as an instructor (if appropriate), intended use of the scholarship funds to advance one's graduate studies, and financial need.

To apply, send a brief (typically 1-2 pages) statement of eligibility and intended usage of the scholarship funds. Examples of the latter include travel to a conference or to undertake fieldwork for one's degree, payment of page charges on a refereed manuscript, etc. Include copies of your undergraduate and graduate transcripts. Provide a cover page that specifies your name, phone, email address and advisor's name.

By Friday, September 27, 2013 send these materials to:

Professor David Bromwich
Polar Meteorology Group, Byrd Polar Research Center &
Department of Geography, Atmospheric Sciences Program
108 Scott Hall
1090 Carmack Road
Columbus, Ohio 43210

The $2,000.00 scholarship will be awarded in October, 2013. The recipient will be selected by a 3-member committee. For more information, contact David Bromwich at 614-292-6692 or .

G. McKenzie Undergraduate Scholarship Fund

Updated 02/10/2012

Paul Soltesz has been awarded the 2012 G. McKenzie Undergraduate Scholarship

Paul is a senior undergraduate in Geography, working on a B.S. in physical geography, and working with Bryan Mark in the Glacier Environmental Change group at BPRC. His interests broadly span bio-physical earth processes with an emphasis on environmental change, biogeography, geomorphology, and paleoclimatology. Paul will use his award to travel to New York to present his research entitled "Assessing Mid-Holocene Aridity in Central Ohio" at the annual meeting of the Association of American Geographers.

The next request for applications will occur in late 2012.

Attention UNDERGRADUATE STUDENTS working with Byrd Polar Research Center scientists. You are encouraged to apply for research support from the G. McKenzie Undergraduate Scholarship Fund. The funds are to be used in support of your undergraduate research (hourly salary support, travel to meetings, fieldwork, etc.).

Applications are due by Tuesday, January 31, 2012 and are to be submitted to:
Dr. Ellen Mosley-Thompson
OSU Byrd Polar Research Center
108 Scott Hall
1090 Carmack Rd
Columbus, OH 43210

The scholarship(s) will be awarded by March 1, 2012.

Applications must include: a one-page description of your project, a short detailed budget and a letter of endorsement by the BPRC member with whom you are working. Requests can be in the amount of $300.00 or less.

Any questions should be directed to Michele Cook at .